birthday fun

27 February 2015 § 1 Comment

age 2 | respiteblog

2 year old selfies | respite

birthday dinner | respite

birthday cake | respite

My birthday was yesterday,
and every year I kind of dread it;
thinking of growing older,
birthdays of years past overshadowed
by other things in life.
Yet, I am always pleasantly surprised
by all the love and care my family puts into
making it a special day.

I played with my favorite two year old,
enjoyed a long leisurely coffee date
with some favorite mamas of mine.

Meandered around the fabric store
for a long time,
looking over cottons, linens, and laces.

Despite the feet of snow and frigid temperatures,
I pretended it was spring.

Wearing a new bright blue Breton,
enjoying a dinner with my little family ~
chinook salmon with fresh dill, asparagus, new potatoes,
and a baby lettuces salad,
with (an old family recipe) sponge cake
little strawberries and whipped cream
for dessert.

All my favorite things wrapped up in a day.

§ One Response to birthday fun

What’s this?

You are currently reading birthday fun at respite.

meta