geranium dress times two

1 July 2013 Comments Off on geranium dress times two

geranium dress DSC_0907 DSC_0913 DSC_0974 DSC_0989 DSC_0996 DSC_0997

The sewing for girls continues.

I have been eyeing the sweet geranium dress for awhile,
wondering if an opportunity for it would arise.
When my sisters decided to have a combined party
for their youngest daughters it seemed the perfect time.
A baptism dress and a first birthday
celebrated at a garden party in white dresses –
almost too much cuteness to handle.

I stumbled on a gorgeous Robert Kaufman lace and voile cotton
at the local fabric store and knew it was exactly what was needed.
Lining the bodice with a white quilting cotton detailed with a delicate white print,
and the skirt with some white voile I’d had for ages,
the dresses were light and airy.
Of course diaper covers were needed, so I used this tutorial and pattern,
again lining the main fabric with a more opaque cotton.

The pattern is such a simple one that it was a pleasure to sew;
it would be the great as a first clothing pattern for beginners.
Everything is clearly spelled out in the instructions,
so there is little area for mistakes.
Honestly I’m thrilled with the end result, and I think my sisters liked them too!

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading geranium dress times two at respite.

meta