sewing for girls

11 May 2013 Comments Off on sewing for girls

pj pants (c) 2013fabricsdutch costumedutch baby (c) 2013


Last week my sister asked if I could sew up some pajama pants for her eldest
since she couldn’t find any cute cotton options,
and those polyester pajamas are horrible to wear in the spring and summer.
We popped into Joanns and found some sweet and fun
Lisette prints in a lightweight lawn fabric.
The fabric is really quite lovely,
the shorts and pants are going to be breathable and cool during those hot nights.
I had planned to use the Parsley pants pattern,
but I didn’t have enough fabric for the layout in a larger size.
So I used a smaller old butterick pajama pattern that I resized.
I always forget how easily pants come together,
the boys will definitely have some summer pajamas coming their way soon!

We had a slight “emergency” in the dutch costume department for our local heritage festival,
For the life of us we could not find the baby sized costume,
but thank goodness for my fabric stash.
With a bit of shirting, leftover calico from my grandmother,
and some black broadcloth from previous dutch costumes
I was able to pull together a little volendam outfit in a short amount of time.
It was one of those projects that was meant to be,
I had everything on hand,
all the pieces of my self-drafted pattern came together perfectly,
and all the trims were the just the right size.
I don’t think it could have happened better if I had purposely tried!
And of course, the best reward is the little doll baby dressed in it.

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading sewing for girls at respite.

meta